Pacquiao and Roach Win 2009 BWAA Boxing Awards

Pound for Pound king, Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao, and his hall of fame trainer, Freddie Roach, won Boxing Writers Association of America fighter and trainer of the year for 2009, this will be their second year in a row winning the awards, Pacquiao was also voted “Fighter of the decade” by the BWAA.

This is Manny Pacquiao’s third BWAA Sugar Ray Robinson trophy for fighter of the year, Pacquiao won the award in 2006 and 2008.

Pacquiao beat out fellow 2009″ Fighter of the year” nominees Arthur Abraham, Vitali Klitschko, Andre Ward and Paul Williams.

Manny Pacquiao also won “Fighter of the decade”  the nominees included Marco Antonio Barrera, Joe Calzaghe, Bernard Hopkins, Juan Manuel Marquez, Floyd Mayweather Jr and Shane Mosley

Freddie Roach was awarded “Trainer of the year” for the fourth time in his boxing career, the award is named after the late Eddie Futch who trained Freddie Roach as a young boxer and Roach considers his mentor.

Discuss this and other boxing news in the Now Boxing Forum (membership is FREE)