Sergio Martinez beats out Manny Pacquiao for 2010 BWAA “Fighter of the Year”

Middleweight champion, Sergio “Maravilla” Martinez of Argentina, will receive this years BWAA (Boxing Writers Association of America) “Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year” award, for his sensational wins over Kelly Pavlik, a fight where Martinez was the huge underdog and beat Pavlik for his Middleweight title, and his one punch knockout of Paul Williams, which many writers and boxing fans are calling the “Knockout of the Year.”

Sergio Martinez beat out the popular superstar boxer Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao for the prestigious award. Pacquiao previously won for 2006, 2008 and 2009 and also received “Fighter of the Decade” by the Boxing Writers Association of America. In 2010, Manny Pacquiao fought Joshua Clottey and Antonio Margarito at Dallas Cowboys stadium in Texas, but the caliber of opponents wasn’t enough to make him the “Fighter of the Year.”

Although Manny Pacquiao didn’t win, his trainer Freddie Roach will receive the “Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year” award again making it 3 years in a row and his fifth Trainer of the Year award overall.

The “Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Fight of the Year” award for 2010 goes to Amir Khan vs. Marcos Maidana for their drama filled 12-round boxing match in December, a fight that Khan won showing heart after he was badly hurt in the later rounds by Maidana.

Micky Ward will receive the Boxing Writers Association of America’s James A. Farley award for “Honesty and Integrity in Boxing.” Ward is coming off a stellar year of recognition, a movie titled “The Fighter” based on his life and career as a boxer starring Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale has received critical acclaim and award nominations.

The BWAA’s 86th annual dinner and awards ceremony, is scheduled for May 6, 2011 in Las Vegas, Nevada one day before the May 7th Manny Pacquiao vs. Shane Mosley bout at the MGM Grand.

Got an Opinion? Submit Your Articles and Press Releases to be posted on

*Please refrain from leaving any Racist, Profane or Derogatory comments*